Digital Point forums back online

Posted by Stevio in Miscellaneous on June 2nd, 2008

Digital Point’s forums are now back online and has been since around 5pm BST.

The owner of the forum, Shawn Hogan aka TheOwner, appears clueless for the downtime. He said on the forum: “Hope someone soon can throw a light on the main issue.”

One moderator suggested that there was a fire at a data center that could have been the cause for the downtime, whether or not that would cause a database error, who knows.

Tags:

Related Posts

Digital Point forums still down

Posted by Stevio in Miscellaneous on June 2nd, 2008

Amazingly, the forums at Digital Point are still down. I would have thought they’d be back online, after all, it has been well over 11 hours.

Whatever the problem is, it must be serious for the forums to be down this long.

Digital Point forums down

Tags:

Related Posts

Digital Point forums offline

Posted by Stevio in Domain Names, Miscellaneous on June 1st, 2008

The forums at Digital Point are down, longest I’ve seen for quite some time.

Currently, the forum software says: “Database error… The database has encountered a problem.”

Talking of Digital Point, yesterday I was given an infraction because they ‘felt’ I was bumping my domain sales thread. To say I wasn’t happy was an understatement considering every time I posted it was with relevant information to the sale.

Admittedly I had posted four replies to my own post and only I had posted in the thread, but that was because I changed prices for some domain that were expiring, added that I would offer discounts, and also another to say that I decided to keep a domain. Supposedly it was the latter post that I got the infraction for the infraction, which I think is a joke.

The moderator was harsh in my opinion, especially when you can’t alter you previous posts on Digital Point.

I try and run my sales thread properly, providing up-to-date and accurate information. It seems Digital Point don’t want this as they ‘feel’ you might be bumping. How wrong and how pathetic.

Tags:

Related Posts

Richard Thompson advertising spam

Posted by Stevio in Miscellaneous on February 15th, 2008

Something that is becoming annoying is spam from someone claiming to want to buy advertising on my websites.

Hello ,

My name is Richard Thompson and I am interested in having a link on your website (xxxxxxxxxxxx.com).
I will be very thankful to you if you give me some prices for the following ads:

1) text link on your homepage/all pages
2) text box ad 120×60, 125×125 on homepage/all pages

Thank you in advance!

Richard Thompson

I’ve received quite a few e-mails and they’re all the same, including the sender’s name ‘Richard Thompson’. The only thing different is the ‘from’ and ‘reply-to’ e-mail addresses.

What the purpose from these e-mails are only one can only guess, but it’s most likely to be something of a scam. So if you receive one of these mails, best just delete it and forget about it.

Related Posts
  • No Related Post
Next Page »